California Break Law

[ˌkælɪˈfɔːnɪə miːl ˈbreɪk lɔː]
Definition:

Under the California Meal Break Law, employers must ensure to provide employees with unpaid meal breaks for every 5 hours; meal breaks must not be interrupted and without duty (duty - free for at least 30 minutes. 

Every employee has the right to spend their 30 minutes on anything which includes: grocery shopping, meals or any other errand that needs to be carried out; this meal break can however be waved off upon a mutual agreement between the employee and the employer; nevertheless the employer is still required to provide the break as requested by law. 

Employees that work more than 10 hours a day have the entitlement of having a second meal break which should start before the end of the shift; under the California Meal Break Law, employers are not obliged to monitor whether their employees are taking breaks; they are however obliged to give the break. 

Part of speech:
Noun
Use in a sentence:
Every employer must comply with the California Meal Break Law.
California Meal Break Law

Start defining your knowledge

Get daily terms and quizzes sent straight to your inbox!

By subscribing to HRWordGenius you are agreeing to our Privacy Policy and Terms and Conditions.